Markus Karstieß
Irden

15 April to 4 September 2016
Raketenstation Hombroich
Siza Pavillon (Friday to Sunday an on holidays 12 to 6 pm)
Fontana Pavillon (Sunday, 12 to 6 pm)

Finissage, Book Presentation
Sunday, 4 September 2016, 3 pm
Siza Pavilion, Raketenstation Hombroich

On the occasion of the exhibition Irden Stiftung Insel Hombroich issues an artist book. In this Markus Karstieß approaches photographically the interplay of his displayed works with the characteristics of Hombroich as a site. Apart from Karstieß’s photographs the publication will provide a talk between the artist and the Hombroich based collector Volker Kahmen as well as texts by Jannis Kounellis, Frank Boehm, and Friedrich Meschede in German, English, and Italian. The publication will be presented to the public at 4 September 2016.

__M_KARSTIESS_COVER_END_H_opt13-07-16.inddMarkus Karstieß
Irden

Insel Hombroich Foundation (editor)
german / english, italian / english
128 pages, prox. 70 images
22 x 30 cm
34.90 Euro
special price on september, 4th, 2016: 25 Euro
ISBN 978-3-95476-170-8
Distanz Verlag

 

Guided Visits
Sunday, 15 May 2016, 3 pm, with Frank Boehm (as part of the 16th Inselfestival)
Sunday, 5 June 2016, 1 pm
Sunday, 3 July 2016, 1 pm
and for groups and school classes by appointment via E-Mail

The Artist in Conversation
Siza Pavilion, Lecture Hall
Sunday, 12 June 12, 2016, 11 am
Another feature in the exhibition plan is to be a talk with the artist and Frank Boehm, the director of Stiftung Insel Hombroich. They will be considering Markus Karstieß’s work and his artistic career to date.

 

From 15 April to 4 September 2016, Stiftung Insel Hombroich will be presenting a solo show of works by the Düsseldorf artist Markus Karstieß. Irden (Earthen) at the Siza Pavilion at Hombroich’s Raketenstation, a former NATO missile base, covers aspects of Karstieß’s work ranging from the past ten years to some of his latest pieces. For the duration of the exhibition the Fontana Pavilion will also be open, it having played a special part in Karstieß’s artistic development.

While on a residency at the Raketenstation Hombroich in 2005, the artist was struck by Lucio Fontana’s large-scale ceramic relief Il Sole (1952), which is housed in a pavilion purpose-built for it by sculptor Erwin Heerich. The encounter has never ceased to exercise a decisive influence on the younger artist’s work. Before his residency had ended, Karstieß was venturing into his first artistic explorations of the clay medium. In a rare degree of concentration on a single material by today’s standards, he subsequently developed his own approach and his own vocabulary of form. Two parameters underlie these: first, what appears to be an intuitive processing of the source material and its imponderables in the course of working with it; second, the penetrating and creating of a space of one’s, or its, own, either in establishing relationships between the sculptures in site-specific configurations or by dint of works and spatial sequences both of which wholly claim, or again, endow space. The act is what most interests Karstieß in all this – the performance potential of clay. It is through the movements between material, artist and space that sculptures, installations and spatial structures come about.

Looking back on ten years of productive activity, Karstieß now returns to the origin of his ceramic practice. In gathering sculptures from various groups of work dating from this period, the exhibition is able to retrace his artistic development into the present. We follow the artist in his search for form and structure as it takes him on a meandering path, sometimes in several directions at once; and the route uncovers the various poles between which the œuvre operates. These fields unfold between the organic and the geometrical, between aesthetic autonomy and Karstieß’s play with functionality, between the sombre and the gloss of glamour, crude form and perfect surfaces, desire-rousing appeal here, the demonically repulsive there, failure and growth, and the melancholy, the archaic and the ironic. At the Siza Pavilion a many-layered dialogue of these counterpoints thus unfurls. With the Fontana Pavilion at the Raketenstation Hombroich open in tandem, the Irden show will be enhanced by Lucio Fontana’s ceramic relief as the point of departure and turning-point of Karstieß’s artistic development of recent years.

One of the core features of Karstieß’s work consists of the empowering and creation of space. Karstieß’s underlying assumption is that when we take something from the earth, we must give something back to it; and that building, as Dom Hans van der Laan has put it, is humankind’s reconciliation with nature. Thus Karstieß engages with such artists as Robert Smithson, whose intervention Asphalt Rundown of 1969 the younger artist took as the starting point for his cycle of works entitled Scholar’s Rocks in 2015. In another set, entitled Dirty Corners (2013), as in further works, he creates (part-)architecture in ceramics, so fathoming the limits of the processing potential of his favourite medium. That focus on the borderland between architecture and sculpture is one he shares with the Stiftung Insel Hombroich.

Idea and planning: Frank Boehm with Frederike Lagoni
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Biography

Markus Karstieß (born at Haan near Düsseldorf, in the Rhineland, 1971) studied at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf from 1992 to 1998, finishing in Jannis Kounellis’s master class. He has been the recipient of many grants, awards and residencies, the latter including Casa Baldi, part of the Deutsche Akademie at Villa Massimo in Rome. His work is exhibited in Germany and internationally. Since 2007 he has been represented by Galerie Van Horn in Düsseldorf, and since 2012 also by the Bruce Haines Gallery in Mayfair, London. Alongside his artistic activity, Karstieß was artistic co-director of the Kunstverein at Schwerte with Christian Freudenberger from 2008 to 2012. He has also been active on further curating projects in the interim. In 2013, he held a chair as visiting professor and research fellow at Newcastle University (UK), and since 2014, has been teaching as a deputy professor at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Munich. Markus Karstieß lives and works in Düsseldorf.

Website of Markus Karstieß
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The exhibition is supported by

KNRW_Logo_s          Foerderverein_Logo

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Markus Karstieß
Irden

15. April bis 4. September 2016
Raketenstation Hombroich
Siza Pavillon (Freitag bis Sonntag und an Feiertagen 12 bis 18 Uhr)
Fontana Pavillon (Sonntag, 12 bis 18 Uhr)
Eintritt: 5 Euro, ermässigt 3 Euro

Der Düsseldorfer Künstler Markus Karstieß traf 2005 auf der Raketenstation Hombroich auf Lucio Fontanas Keramik-Relief Il Sole (1952) – eine für sein Werk entscheidende Begegnung. In einer heutzutage seltenen Konzentration auf einen Werkstoff entwickelte er in der Folgezeit seine eigene bildhauerische Sprache mit dem Material Keramik. Die Ausstellung zeigt Karstieß’ künstlerische Entwicklung bis in die Gegenwart.

Finissage
mit Buchpräsentation 
Sonntag, 4. September 2016, 16 Uhr 
Siza Pavillon

Die Stiftung Insel Hombroich gibt anlässlich der Ausstellung Irden eine Publikation heraus. In dieser nähert sich Markus Karstieß fotografisch dem Zusammenspiel seiner Arbeiten mit den Gegebenheiten des Ortes Hombroich. Neben Karstieß’ Fotografien umfasst die Publikation auch ein Gespräch zwischen dem Künstler und dem in Hombroich ansässigen Sammler Dr. Volker Kahmen sowie weitere Texte von Jannis Kounellis, Frank Boehm und Dr. Friedrich Meschede.

__M_KARSTIESS_COVER_END_H_opt13-07-16.inddMarkus Karstieß
Irden

Stiftung Insel Hombroich (Hrsg.)
Deutsch / Englisch, Italienisch / Englisch
128 Seiten, etwa 70 Abbildungen
22 x 30 cm
34.90 Euro
Sonderpreis am 4. September 2016: 25 Euro
Distanz Verlag
ISBN 978-3-95476-170-8

Erscheint im September 2016
Erhältlich über die Stiftung Insel Hombroich oder
den Distanz Verlag.

 

Führungen

Sonntag, 15. Mai 2016, 15 Uhr, mit Frank Boehm (im Rahmen des 16. Inselfestivals)
Sonntag, 5. Juni 2016, 13 Uhr
Sonntag, 3. Juli 2016, 13 Uhr
Ohne Voranmeldung

Führungen für Gruppen können via Email vereinbart werden.

Künstlergespräch
Siza Pavillon, Auditorium 
Sonntag, 12. Juni 2016, 11 Uhr
Frank Boehm, Geschäftsführer der Stiftung Insel Hombroich, wird sich mit Markus Karstieß über dessen Arbeit und seinen künstlerischen Werdegang unterhalten.

 

Die Einzelausstellung im Siza Pavillon auf der Raketenstation Hombroich umfasst Aspekte aus Karstieß’ Werk der vergangenen zehn Jahre bis hin zu neuesten Arbeiten. Der Fontana Pavillon wird während der Laufzeit der Ausstellung ebenfalls zugänglich sein, da er eine besondere Rolle in Karstieß’ künstlerischer Entwicklung spielt.

Im Rahmen eines Gastkünstleraufenthaltes traf Markus Karstieß 2005 auf der Raketenstation Hombroich auf Lucio Fontanas großformatiges Keramik-Relief Il Sole (1952) in dem eigens hierfür erbauten Pavillon des Bildhauers Erwin Heerich – eine Begegnung, die Karstieß’ Werk fortan entscheidend prägen sollte. Noch während seines Aufenthalts auf der Raketenstation Hombroich begann Karstieß erste künstlerische Explorationen mit dem Material Ton. In einer heutzutage seltenen Konzentration auf einen Werkstoff entwickelte er in der Folgezeit eine eigene Herangehensweise und Formensprache. Grundlegend hierfür sind zwei Parameter: zum einen die gleichsam intuitive Bearbeitung des Werkstoffs und dessen Unwägbarkeiten im Fortgang seiner Verarbeitung; zum anderen das Durchdringen und Erschaffen eines eigenen Raums – sei es durch das Etablieren von Beziehungen zwischen den Skulpturen in ortsbezogenen Ensembles oder durch raumfüllende bzw. raumgebende Arbeiten und Raumsequenzen. Dabei interessiert Karstieß vor allem die performative Dimension des Werkstoffs Ton: Durch die Bewegungen zwischen Material, Künstler und Raum entstehen Skulpturen, Installationen und Raumgefüge.

Nach zehn Jahren produktiver Tätigkeit kehrt Karstieß nun zum Ursprung seines keramischen Schaffens zurück. Indem Skulpturen aus verschiedenen Werkgruppen dieser Periode gezeigt werden, zeichnet die Ausstellung Karstieß’ künstlerische Entwicklung bis in die Gegenwart nach. Sie folgt dem Künstler auf seiner Suche nach Form und Gestalt, die mäandrierend und zum Teil gleichzeitig in unterschiedliche Richtungen verläuft, und spürt hierbei die Spannungsfelder seines Werks auf. Diese entfalten sich zwischen dem Organischen und dem Geometrischen, ästhetischer Autonomie und dem Spiel mit Funktionalität, dem Dunklen und dem glamourös Glänzenden, der kruden Form und den perfekten Oberflächen, dem Begierde weckenden Anziehenden und dem Dämonisch-Abstoßenden, dem Scheitern und dem Wachsen sowie dem Melancholischen, dem Archaischen und dem Ironischen. Im Siza Pavillon entspinnt sich so ein vielschichtiger Dialog dieser Kontrapunkte. Durch die begleitende Öffnung des Fontana Pavillons auf der Raketenstation Hombroich wird die Ausstellung Irden um Lucio Fontanas Keramik-Relief als Ausgangs- und Wendepunkt von Karstieß’ jüngerer künstlerischer Entwicklung erweitert.

Ein Schwerpunkt von Karstieß’ Werk liegt auf der Bemächtigung und Erschaffung von Raum. Karstieß geht davon aus, dass man der Erde etwas zurückgeben muss, wenn man ihr etwas wegnimmt, und dass Bauen gemäß Dom Hans van der Laan die Versöhnung des Menschen mit der Natur ist. So setzt Markus Karstieß sich mit Künstlern wie zum Beispiel Robert Smithson auseinander, dessen Intervention Asphalt Rundown (1969) er zum Ausgangspunkt seiner Werkgruppe Scholar’s Rocks (2015) machte. In der Werkgruppe Dirty Corners (2013) wie auch in anderen Arbeiten schafft er keramische (Teil-)Architekturen, mit denen er die Grenzen der Verarbeitungsmöglichkeiten seines bevorzugten Materials auslotet. Diesen Schwerpunkt im Grenzbereich zwischen Architektur und Skulptur teilt Karstieß mit der Stiftung Insel Hombroich.

Konzept der Ausstellung: Frank Boehm mit Dr. Frederike Lagoni

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Biografie

Markus Karstieß (*1971 in Haan/Rheinland) studierte von 1992 bis 1998 an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf in der Meisterklasse von Jannis Kounellis. Er erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien und war mehrfach Artist in Residence, so zum Beispiel 2014 in der Casa Baldi der Deutschen Akademie Villa Massimo in Rom. Sein Werk wird in nationalen wie internationalen Ausstellungen gezeigt. Seit 2007 wird er von der Galerie VAN HORN in Düsseldorf, seit 2012 zudem von der Galerie Bruce Haines, Mayfair in London vertreten. Neben seinem künstlerischen Schaffen hatte er von 2008 bis 2012 gemeinsam mit Christian Freudenberger die künstlerische Leitung des Kunstvereins Schwerte inne. Weitere kuratorische Projekte folgten. 2013 war er Gastprofessor und Research Fellow an der Newcastle University, UK; seit 2014 lehrt er als Vertretungsprofessor an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München. Markus Karstieß lebt und arbeitet in Düsseldorf.

Homepage von Markus Karstieß

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Die Ausstellung wird unterstützt von

 KNRW_Logo_s

Foerderverein_Logo

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________